top of page

La dame de fer

The single most famous piece of architecture in France, the Eiffel Tower.

It was originally built in 1889 for the World Fair, to show off France's technological and engineering domination in the world. The Eiffel Tower wasn't even meant to be left on display forever, originally there was much backlash against its construction, but has since earned it spot as the quintessential Parisian monument.

During WWI the tower was used as a military radio and telegraph center, which helped it stay put even after the World Fair. The architect, Gustave Eiffel also worked on the framework of the Statue of Liberty that France gifted to the United States. Even Hitler is said to have made his way up the Eiffel Tower to get a view of the city that he once loved so dearly.

Every single time I see the Eiffel Tower, I just sigh, not realizing the reality of my current life studying abroad in Paris, one of the most beautiful cities in the world. The Iron Lady, or La Dame de Fer always seems to be welcoming me, and reminding me just where I am and how blessed I am to be here.

I'll probably never get tired of admiring this beautiful work of art. And even when I feel less like a tourist, I'll keep snapping pics of her because I just can't help it. The Eiffel Tower is a masterpiece and an icon for the city of Paris.

UCLA IEO is the place to go for all of your study abroad questions!

  • logo-small_0_edited

Check http://www.ieo.ucla.edu/ for more information

bottom of page